demiology and supervises public clinics. An Air Ambulance Service provides emergency transportation at a nominal charge of \$25 per flight. Other divisions are: Administration, Sanitation, Vital Statistics, Health Education, Nutrition, Regional Health Services and Dental Health. A division of Child and Maternal Hygiene is being organized to conduct crippled children's services.

The Saskatchewan Cancer Commission, with the Deputy Minister of Public Health as chairman, operates consultative, diagnostic and treatment clinics at Saskatoon and Regina serving all residents at public cost. Poliomyelitis clinics are operated at Saskatoon and Regina at public expense, as circumstances warrant. Diagnostic and treatment services for all tuberculous persons are provided at public expense in three sanatoria operated by the Saskatchewan Anti-Tuberculosis League with government supervision. Stationary and mobile tuberculosis clinics give diagnostic service and pneumothorax treatments. Mental hospital care is provided without charge to any resident in need of it.

Under the Health Services Act, 1946, the Province is divided into 14 potential Health Regions, six of which have been organized. In each region a regional health board is established which, assisted by advisory committees on dentistry, nursing and medicine, administers general public health services.

Health Districts within the Region are represented on a District Health Council. Public health nursing, dental care and clinical facilities are provided; general practitioner care and specialist services are as yet provided only in the one Health Region where the plan is in full operation. In some districts within the other Regions, a municipal doctor system has been in operation for many years; under this system a contract between the municipal authority and a duly qualified medical practitioner provides for the services of the latter to all bona fide residents of that municipality. Legislation in 1949 provided for compulsory pasteurization of milk sold for human consumption in cities and towns of 1,000 population or over.

The Health Services Planning Commission administers the Saskatchewan Hospital Services Plan and supervises hospital planning, construction, and administration, and all approved hospitals and nursing homes. It is also an advisory and consultative body to health regions, municipalities, local improvement districts, district union hospitals, municipal and voluntary health plans, and it is responsible for administration of medical care and hospital construction grants. The Commission's Medical Services Division supervises payment of grants to physicians, dentists, and approved hospitals for indigents outside municipal jurisdictions.

The Saskatchewan Hospitalization Act, 1948, provides prepaid hospital care throughout the Province. It covers public ward accommodation, operating and case room facilities, drugs, surgical dressings and X-rays. Under the scheme all persons are covered, except those otherwise provided for by the Government (e.g., members of the Armed Forces and persons in institutions). The cost of the hospitalization is met by a personal tax of \$10 per annum per person, with a maximum of \$30 per family. The Provincial Treasury meets any deficit and also pays the tax for pensioners and public assistance recipients, except in the case of those public assistance recipients who are a charge on the municipality and for whom the municipality pays the tax.

A complete medical care scheme in operation in Health Region No. 1, the Swift Current area, composed of 87 predominantly rural municipalities, serves 54,000 persons. This plan includes general practitioner and specialist services, diagnostic and out-patient services and children's dental care. Hospitalization is